Dever on Preaching

I recently had a conversation with a Christian brother who was telling me about his church and their plans to scrap preaching in their Sunday morning services in favour of discussion groups. We had a good chat about it where I expressed my belief that this would be detrimental to their church. It got me thinking a lot about the necessity of preaching and I was reminded of this talk by Mark Dever, pastor of Capitol Hill Baptist Church in Washington, D.C. on the centrality of preaching. I’d highly commend it to you for listening:

The Centrality of Expository Preaching

8 Comments

Filed under 9 marks, audio, preaching

8 responses to “Dever on Preaching

  1. Have to disagree with this. In some instances a discussion group would be better. Have you read “Why Johnny Can’t Preach”?

  2. I believe that the New Testament is fairly clear as to the necessity and centrality of preaching for any Christian church. Discussion groups, in principle, are fine, and may be a great blessing to a congregation in practice; but never as a replacement to the godly tradition of the preaching of the Word on the Lord’s Day.

    Like the church that has dispensed with Baptism and the Lord’s Supper, the church which has done away with Lord’s Day preaching has thereby ceased to be a true church.

  3. Dan

    The big problem with expository preaching is, well, that so many preachers make it so boring. Usually it’s done at such a basic level that anyone who’s bothered to read the entire book in question and/or any other material that might further illuminate it is punished by the boredom of it all. Just my $.02

    • The problem, then, isn’t with expository preaching per se. The problem is the preacher.

      • Dan

        Heh, I suppose that’s one way to look at it. Sometimes I wonder if I don’t have a faulty set of expectations ;) I just know that I’ve seen too many preachers and come away thinking “well that was deadly dull” despite wanting to like them and despite not wanting to fall into the “church critic” trap.

  4. No just with some of the men who try and do it and with what passes for it.

Leave a Reply

