Reading Thomas Goodwin

Thomas Goodwin (1600-1679) was an English Puritan who lived during one of the most tumultuous times in England’s history: the English Civil War. Goodwin was a theologian and a chaplain to Oliver Cromwell. A number of years ago I seriously toyed with the idea of studying Goodwin and began collecting his works. I’ve heard it said that he is a “readable” Puritan. I can agree with that, but then again, everyone is readable next to John Owen!

Joel Beeke, president of Puritan Reformed Theological Seminary, has a great article at the Reformation 21 online magazine recommending Goodwin’s works. He lists them in the order that he thinks they should be read. After listing each volume, he gives a brief summary and shares some of his own thoughts on the piece (this post is also here). I found reading this extremely helpful and it makes me want to pull Goodwin out of the boxes at my mom’s house where most of my library is stored.

My friend Mark Jones is coming to the final stages of his doctoral studies at the University of Leiden where he is studying Thomas Goodwin. Mark has a piece at I Will Build My Church…In Ireland on why he chose to study Goodwin. This is well worth reading also.

3 Comments

Filed under friends, joel beeke, mark jones, puritans, thomas goodwin

3 responses to “Reading Thomas Goodwin

  1. thomasgoodwin

    Goodwin is actually very un-readable! I don’t know who started that vicious rumor.

    • I haven’t read enough to know, especially the more technical stuff. A number of years ago I read that little reprint called The Return of Prayers (by Baker I think) and thought it was great. I also read chunks of another reprint that I think is called Man’s Total Depravity or something to that effect. You’d know more than me though!

  2. No kidding… A friend just gave me a book with one writing by Robert Bolton and the other by Thomas Goodwin. Total coincidence. No, I am not stalking your reading preferences :)

Leave a Reply

