Obama’s “Stimulus” Package

I felt like garbage much of yesterday. So I watched more TV than I usually do (I didn’t do laundry, that’s for sure!). During the twelve o’clock news I watched Barack Obama at a townhall meeting in Elkhart, Indiana push his stimulus plan estimated at over 800 billion dollars. It was really, really sad to watch. How depressing to see all of these false hopes bandied about willy-nilly, being received with a gleam in their eye from hard-working people who have no idea that they’re swallowing the biggest dupe in US economic history.
Professor Robert Barro teaches economics at Harvard University. Conor Clarke at The Atlantic recently did an interview with him where Barro called Obama’s stimulus package “the worst bill that has been put forward since the 1930s.” (HT: Justin Taylor).
I was home in Windsor this past weekend for my niece’s first birthday. One of the things I love about being home is sitting on my mother’s couch with the sun beaming through the windows with a cup of coffee and the Windsor Star newspaper in my hands. Saturday papers are great because they always have a column by the excellent Thomas Sowell. I don’t think that I’ve ever read something by the man without being in almost full agreement. His recent column on Obama’s stimulus plan, I think, explains clearly the stupidity of the whole thing (I could only find a link to the same column in the Washington Times). Sowell is a well-known author, columnist and fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.
Finally, how could I do a post about Obama’s 800 billion blow out without reference to Ron Paul – the guy who should be president. Here’s a YouTube video of Dr. Paul explaining why this package isn’t what many think it is and why it’s going to severely damage the US greenback. Hear Ron Paul:
Leave a comment

Filed under barack obama, economics, ron paul, thomas sowell

Leave a Reply

