Jesus is Yahweh

At Crux yesterday I met a guy who was interested in researching the Trinity and Jesus’ divinity. He has been meeting with some Jehovah’s Witnesses and has found some of their arguments to be thoughtful and possibly even biblical. Of course, Jehovah’s Witnesses deny the doctrine of the Trinity and the deity of our Lord Jesus.
I emailed him this morning with the hopes of getting together. I included in my email some verses that ascribe to Jesus titles/attributes that are ascribed to Yahweh in the Old Testament. These are culled from Murray Harris’ awesome book Jesus As God (Baker, 1998).
I AM (the covenant name of God)
Exodus 3:14 (see Isaiah 43:11) – John 8:58.
Salvation and Yahweh
Joel 2:32 – Romans 10:9-13
Yahweh Described
Ezekiel 43:2 – Revelation 1:13-16
There are plenty more, but I thought that these were helpful.
I also directed his attention to the use of Isaiah 6 when applied to Jesus and the Holy Spirit in the New Testament, namely John 12:41 and Acts 28:25.
My prayer is that my friend would come to see Christ as the eternal God whom true Christians everywhere have worshipped since the beginning of the church!
2 Comments

Filed under apologetics, books, crux books, cults, jehovah's witness, jesus, trinity

2 responses to “Jesus is Yahweh

  1. Mark

    I don’t know that this is 100% relevant, though I think it touches on the same topic.

    I’ve always loved how Jesus dealt with the Pharisees in Matthew 22.

    Now while the Pharisees were gathered together, Jesus asked them a question, saying, “What do you think about the Christ? Whose son is he?”

    He said to them, “How is it then that David, in the Spirit, calls him Lord, saying, “‘The Lord said to my Lord, Sit at my right hand,
    until I put your enemies under your feet’?

    If then David calls him Lord, how is he his son?” And no one was able to answer him a word, nor from that day did anyone dare to ask him any more questions.

  2. Ian Clary

    I think this is very relevant! Thanks for it.
    See you this Sunday bro.

Leave a Reply

