Pulpit Supply

I hate cheesy (yes, I put an “s” there) personal advertisements – I don’t know how marketable I am – but here’s one anyway. I am officially in the business of pulpit supply, so if you know of anyone needing to get a faithful preacher of the gospel in their church, maybe because the pastor will be on vacation, please send them my way. The Lord has blessed in this regard. On this coming Lord’s Day I have the privilege of preaching at my home away from home: Grace Baptist Church of Essex. And on the 20th I will have my first opportunity to preach at Richview Baptist for Pastor Darryl Dash. For those of you not familiar with Darryl, you really need to check out his blog Dash House. I have just updated him on my blogroll.

Here is an excellent quote from the excellent Hercules Collins, persecuted pastor of the seventeenth century:

If thou has much of God’s presence in preaching, be not overconfident that the
sermon shall do most good. And if you are in a dull frame in preaching, so long
as you preach God’s Word, do not despair of a good effect.

Hercules Collins (1646/7-1702) quoted in Michael A. G. Haykin and Steve Weaver, Devoted To the Service of the Temple: Piety, Persecution, and Ministry in the Writings of Hercules Collins Profiles in Reformed Spiritualiy (Grand Rapids, Michigan: Reformation Heritage Books, 2007), 107.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Pulpit Supply

  1. Mark

    Ian,

    Glad to hear you are preaching at Grace again. I really enjoyed your sermon the last time you came. I think you shouldn’t be allowed to sit through a service here any more.

    We’ll try to make sure it gets recorded properly this time [!]

    I, too, don’t know how marketable you are. You have a nice smile, but it ain’t quite a Rick Warren one. Try holding it while you are talking like he does :> :>

  2. Mark

    Oops. I mean Joel Olsteen not Rick Warren :)

  3. Darryl

    Thanks for the link! Thanks also for agreeing to preach at Richview. I’m really looking forward to hearing the sermon afterward. Wish I could be there.

  4. Ian

    Well, so long as you have a good time on vacation all will be well. Can’t guarantee the sermon though! All in God’s grace. :)
    We should get together with John when you have time after you get back.

  5. Darryl

    Looking forward to it.

  6. Keith Edwards

    Great reminder. The story is told of an arrogant young preacher who headed up to preach full of pride and confidence in himself. The sermon went poorly and he returned to his seat at the close dejected, quiet and reflective. A dear old saint spoke to him at the door, “Young man if you had gone up the way you came down, you would have come down the way you went up.”
    Our confidence is in the Lord. Preaching has a “dynamic” in it that is not explained by years of training or theological prowess but by the evidence of the Spirit of God in the life of the preacher.
    God bless.

Leave a Reply

