Book Questions

I usually can’t stand being tagged, but when it comes to books — well, my opinion differs drastically! Darrin put down some good books on his post and tagged me (as well as some others) to display my reading habits. So, here goes! Without wanting to state the obvious, I am excluding the Bible from this list because if I didn’t, it would be my every answer (except, of course, for number 7 – thanks Ben).

1) One book that changed your life:
I’m sure that there are many books that have had a profound influence on me. And although this book isn’t greatly technical, it broke me of a lot of my worldliness. It is Whatever Happened to the Gospel of Grace? by James Montgomery Boice. It especially helped me not to keep myself dumb. Another book that I’ve greatly enjoyed, although maybe not so influential, is Intellectuals by Paul Johnson.

2) One book that you’ve read more than once:
On the Road by Jack Kerouac. It has such a wanderers spirit that I love. Maybe not the most moral book out there, but certainly one that I’ve enjoyed. I hear that an unedited edition is coming out soon!

3) One book you’d want on a deserted island:
The SAS Survival Handbook: How to Survive in the Wild, In Any Climate, On Land or at Sea by John Wiseman. A guy’s gotta survive!!!

4) One book that made you laugh:
Fidelity by Douglas Wilson. The opening chapter about biblical satire had me in stitches, and proved a very excellent and biblical point. Sometimes we need to talk plainly to get our point across. Thankfully, plain speech can be funny!

5) One book that made you cry:
Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry. When ole Gus died, I balled. I usually get pretty choked up when I watch that scene in the movie too.

6) One book that you wish had been written:
A Comprehensive History of Atheism: Readings and Analysis by Greg Bahnsen. I think it would have been the one stop resource for demolishing atheism.

7) One book that you wish had never been written:
Why Christianity Must Change or Die by John Shelby Spong. The guy is pompous and arrogant disguised as open minded and caring. The book has destroyed many a person’s faith.

8) One book that you are currently reading:
As with Darrin, I have my bookmark in a few books. I just finished A Serrated Edge by Douglas Wilson (excellent); I too am reading Selected Shorter Writings of J. Gresham Machen by D. G. Hart; I’m reading through the Works of Alexander Carson (slow going and tedious note taking). I’m almost finished Stanley E. Porter and Stephen Bedard’s Unmasking the Pagan Christ. I haven’t touched in about a week or so for one reason or another. I’m also reading various articles in an old Reformed journal called Contra Mundum — interesting stuff. Today I read about how Enlightenment thinking, in particular rationalism, was evident about a hundred years before the actual Enlightenment began. The culprit was an Anglican named Richard Hooker, who subordinated revelation for reason. (That was long!! Whoops).

9) One book you’ve been meaning to read:
Unlike Darrin, I haven’t sat and read through John Calvin’s Institutes of the Christian Religion. That is something that I very much would like to do. I’ve read numerous portions, but never cover to cover.

So, now it’s time to inflict this on some other bloggers. I would have to say Terry Stauffer, Rogers Meredith, Al Mickle and Crawford Gribben! I don’t tag them to annoy them, I’m actually interested to see their answers!!
6 Comments

Filed under books, doug wilson, greg bahnsen, john calvin, tom harpur, westerns

6 responses to “Book Questions

  1. Rogers Meredith

    Ok great!!!! I will get back with you early next week.

  2. Ian

    Sweet, lookin’ forward to it!

  3. Allen R. Mickle, Jr.

    Sounds good Ian… I’ll get back at you this weekend!

    Allen

  4. Rogers Meredith

    Have a look now, I finished Sunday eveninig a little early!

  5. Rogers Meredith

    OK so I tagged Marke Horne and yes you guessed it we will be festing up in Moscow next week.

  6. stauf46

    Okay, I finally did my assignment. Don’t expect much!

    Terry

Leave a Reply

