Rapture Fiction

For those of you interested in the Left Behind phenomenon, eschatology, dispensationalism, millennialism in American public policy, clear gospel presentations or all of the above then you need to pick up Rapture Fiction by one of my favourite church historians, Crawford Gribben. It will be released on the devilish date of 06.06.06, that I think makes for brilliant PR!
I remember sitting on a train from Belfast to Dublin with Crawford and Dr. Haykin. Crawford had been reading through some of the eschatological meanderings in the history of the church he had found — it made for some very interesting, and strange stories! With Crawford’s wit, coupled with his ability to bring the scholarly conversation to the layman, Rapture Fiction will be a great read.
For ordering information go to the Evangelical Press website. In Canada Sola Scriptura carries EP, so I’m sure if you contact Heinz he’ll be able to hook you up. A sample chapter can be read here — enjoy!
I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!
10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Rapture Fiction

  1. C G

    Thanks Ian! 20% commission sufficient?

  2. Rogers Meredith

    Sounds great, Thanks!

  3. stauf46

    Thanks for the news, I’ll be sure to get a copy! The first chapter was an intriguing teaser. Too bad we have to wait until 6.6.6.

    Terry

  4. Ian

    Well, it’s only tomorrow!

  5. Allen R. Mickle, Jr.

    Hmm… Well I suppose I better read it since I keep getting the ads from Evangelical Press and now PR from you. I’ll filter it through my dispensational premillennialism though. :)

    Allen

  6. Ian

    Hey Allen,
    Check out the first chapter. I’m sure that you’ll at least agree, no matter what your eschatological view, that there is a craze amongst evangelicals that is unhealthy re: end times. It seems to overtake the gospel.
    I would think that is Crawford’s main thrust.
    If you go to his blog you’ll notice that he’s having Tom Ice at a conference at Manchester. And check out his blog pic: Darby!!!
    Crawford is a very charitable fellow. And a great historian.

  7. Allen R. Mickle, Jr.

    Well… we are told to look toward that blessed hope aren’t we? I’ve read the first chapter. It’s tought provoking if nothing else. I will leave the rest of my thoughts until I read the whole book. But suffice to say, while there may be in some ways, an over-emphasis on eschatology, eschatology lends itself to the Gospel since prophecy was given to us to give us hope and to call us to persevere in light of the end. Both ideas are encased in the Gospel. But, like I said, I’ll hold off until I read the book.

    Tom Ice eh? I’m not overly enthralled with his works but some are excellent (“The Great Tribulation” and “When the Trumpet Sounds.” I also noticed the picture of Darby. He always looked mad didn’t he? :)

    Thanks Ian for the recommendation.

    Allen

  8. Ian

    Hey Allen,
    Oh I totally agree that eschatology is integral to our whole understanding of the Gospel and of the Scriptures in entirety. I think that the problem is people who have the Van Impe mentality of trying to date the return of Christ, or who have an escapist view of reality who neglect the commands for this world in hopes of the rapture.
    Who would you suggest as standard reading on dispensationalism. I’ve read from Ryrie, Scofield and Chafer. Being more into dispensationalism, you probably have some favourites. In terms of progressive dispensationalism, I like Blaising, etc.

  9. Allen R. Mickle, Jr.

    Good question Ian,

    Of course I agree with you. That mentality though comes out of extremist dispensationalism, not from the scholarly world.

    In terms of Classical Dispensationalism I would see Ryrie as represenative. Renald Showers There Really is a Difference is also excellent (contrasts classical dispensationalism with covenant theology). As seeing the Kingdom as a unifying centre to the Scriptures from a classical dispensationalist perspective I would check out McClain’s The Greatness of the Kingdom. In terms of progressives (which I don’t have a lot of sympathy for) I would look at Three Central Issues in Contemporary Dispensationalism edited by Bateman (discussion between Classical and Progressive Dispensationalists). Issues in Dispensationalism edited by Willis and Masters is also good. Ultimately, I think the best defense of a Classical Dispensational approach is from my theology professor’s notes on it, Dr. Rolland McCune. But those are hard to come by!

    Allen

Leave a Reply

