Jules on Genesis 1

My good friend Julian Freeman is the pastor of Grace Fellowship Church in Don Mills. He and I went to bible college and seminary together, and for a long while he was one of my pastors. Julian is one of those preachers who makes me feel like I should never ascend a pulpit again—he’s an incredibly clear, logical, affective, theological, practical preacher (and he never looks at his notes!). He recently preached from 1 Peter 5 at New City, and it was excellent. I’m so thankful for him.

Jules is preaching through Genesis at his church. Not long ago he preached on Genesis 1, and I must say, it is an excellent sermon. I highly, highly recommend it. He wisely sets God as the foundation of Genesis 1 and shows why we can’t approach the text by asking it scientifically-driven questions that are determined by our pagan, scientific culture. The text is about the who of creation, not the how. He and I hold the same view on this text, but though I’ve read much on it lately, I learned some good stuff from Julian. There is much wisdom in this sermon. I also wonder if he footnoted this blog in his sermon manuscript? :)

God, His World, His People (Part 1)

2 Comments

Filed under audio, creation, genesis, grace fellowship church don mills, sermons

2 responses to “Jules on Genesis 1

  1. Thanks, Ian. You’re far too gracious in your evaluation of both my preaching ability and the usefulness of my sermon, but I’m glad it was an encouragement to you.

    I didn’t footnote your blog posts in my sermon notes, but I gladly pointed people in your direction who were looking for more resources. :) Thanks again for all your research on this issue. It has been really helpful to me.

Leave a Reply

